top of page

Rahu-Ketu Transit in Aries-Libra on April 12, 2022

Strong malefics Rahu and Ketu will be making a highly anticipated transit into the signs of Aries and Libra on April 12, 2022. This transit will affect our life, ambitions and even detachments for the next 18 months. Let's figure out what this transit holds in this post.

Understanding Rahu and Ketu

Before we dive into the results of the transit, let's first understand the significance of Rahu and Ketu in brief.

The mythology of Rahu and Ketu

According to Hindu mythology, Rahu and Ketu are two entities created by Vishnu. During the samudra manthan process, a demon named Swarbhanu (born of Simhika) slipped into the row of the devatas and drank amrit or nectar. This nectar granted him immortality.

The two planets- Sun and Moon, saw through the deception of Rahu and Ketu and quickly informed Bhagwan Vishnu of the events. Bhagwan Vishnu used his Sudarshan Chakra to cut his body into two parts. However, the demon already drank amrit which granted him immortality. His head, which was cut off from his body became Rahu, while the body was called Ketu.

Rahu and Ketu were later elevated to the status of planets or grahas. Till date, they hold grudges against the two luminaries, Sun and Moon, and eclipse them multiple times every year.

The significance of Rahu and Ketu

In astrology, Rahu and Ketu signify desire and non-desire. Rahu, the head without a body (known as the North Node of the Moon to western astrologers) signifies desire while Ketu, the body without a head (known as the South node of the Moon) signifies both the absence of desire as well a state of inaction.

In its highest manifestation, Rahu is determination, ambition and a strong desire to never give up. It makes relentless efforts to gain what it wants. It is often brilliant, dazzling and charming and rises through the ranks quickly. In lower manifestations, Rahu becomes an aimless desire which is also called mrig-trishna in Hindi. This concept can be connected to mirages- seeing things where there is none.

Similarly, Ketu brings moksha, non-desire and non-attachment to people in its highest manifestations. It can create spiritual and ascetic tendencies, gives you a pure, taintless heart and paves a way for spiritual upliftment. In its lowest manifestations, it is complete inaction or inertia. It doesn't engage with the world and pays no heeds to its own desires or care, let alone others.

How will the transit in Aries-Libra affect you?

Rahu and Ketu will be transiting into Aries and Libra on April 12, 2022. Note that I am using mean nodes, not true node calculations. This means that in my assumption, the formless and massless shadow planets of Rahu and Ketu are always going retrograde.

Rahu in Aries

As Rahu is always going retrograde, it starts its journey from the 12th house or Pisces instead of the 1st house of Aries. This means that arriving in Aries means completing one cycle across the zodiac. Wherever Rahu goes, it adopts the qualities of that sign/sign lord/or planet placed close to it. This time, Rahu will be specially interested in embodying the qualities of the fiery Aries and its equally fiery sign lord Mars.

Note that Aries is the beginning of the zodiac and it is brimming with energy. It can also be connected to an infant that wants its needs to be met and doesn't understand the concept or value of "other" over "self." Hence, the Rahu of Aries, becomes a lot more self-centered. We focus more on our dreams, our wishes and our desires. There is a general lack of altruism and we see more working more in their own self-interests.

The good news is that it could also bring about several new innovations, become the stellar nursery for the development of new leaders, new industries and new ideas. It could also create fantastic new startups and ideas that should be worked upon. The old is saying goodbye and will not be tolerated much longer.

Ketu in Libra

Ketu is considered the planet of moksha or inaction. It has a specific tendency to create moksha or detachment from the properties of any sign or house it is sitting in. Aries is the natural 7th house of your kundli which relates to your relationships, partners, diplomacy and a general sense of compromise between two or more people.

When Ketu goes here, it creates detachment from these properties. The self-centeredness of Rahu in Aries with the complete detachment from relationships cause by Ketu in Libra will mean a full stop for many relationships. This could be seen on an individual scale as well as the world scale. Many diplomatic ties will break, many relationships and families will fall apart.

If Ketu plays a bigger role in your life, there could be chances of estrangement i.e. you do not break things off but do not remain closely connected either. If Rahu becomes hyperactive, it will break things and want to move on as quickly as possible. However, even those alternatives will not last too long.

People who already have a highly altruistic nature and have ascetic tendencies will now become hyper focused on these goals. They will want to help more people and decide that they can find fulfillment by helping others.

How to navigate this transit?

Most people get shivers when they hear about the transits of Rahu and Ketu. They are considered strong malefics and can create a ruckus in anyone's life. However, when your core is strong and your values are well-defined, you can easily navigate through any transits or dashas of Rahu and Ketu.

Here are 3 things you can do to feel better-

  1. Find out your Sun placement and strengthen it.

  2. Find out your Moon placement and judge your pitfalls.

  3. Don't panic and avoid giving too much heed to passing feelings.

Just look at your vedic astrology chart and look at the placement of your Sun. This Sun defines the very core of your being, who you are deep down in your heart. This is your Soul Personality Type.

Then look at your Moon, which signifies your emotional mind, your subconscious and all emotional pitfalls you could face. This is your Mind Personality Type.

Use them together to understand your strengths and weaknesses and avoid giving too much attention to your moods or feelings at the moment. They are bound to change quickly and acting on them could be devastating.

If you have kids or teens at home and feel worried about them, simply ensure that they have positive influences from their maternal grandparents and/or gurus. The gurus should be satvik only.

I hope this transit works well for you. If you want, you can schedule a consultation with me or donate to me as I help brilliant students from underprivileged families receive an education.

Good luck! May Ma Bhagwati Bless you!

98 views0 comments